OH NUTS!

Once again I found this recipe on http://www.stumbleupon.com/ (I’m giving that site lots of free advertising!). When I was reading about the recipe on http://www.handletheheat.com/2011/04/sticky-pecan-upside-down-cupcakes.html I was somewhat hesistant because that blogger was raving about the caramel, and I am *not a huge fan of caramel. In the end I decided I would these cute, miniaturized dessert for Thanksgiving. It was my baby cousin’s Lila’s first Thanksgiving so I figured there would have to be cupcakes! (Not that she would be able to eat one, but still they are cute desserts to photograph)

The blogger of handletheheat didn’t bother to cut out the waxed paper circles, as the recipe instructs, but I did. And thank GOD for that because I made an amateur mistake and forgot to spray nonstick cooking spray on the cupcake tin cups before putting the paper circles inside each opening. Luckily I thought quick on my feet and after carefully peeling each cupcake from the cupcake tin I covered each cupcake in a cupcake wrapper. I bought my cupcake wrappers at TJ Maxx for less than $8. Now there is not a lot of variety when buying cupcake wrappers at TJ Maxx but hey it’s a good price and considering how much ingredients are these days I’m not complaining!

The recipe is quite easy to follow just remember to spray, spray, spray that cupcake tin! Don’t be cheap!

Ingredients:

for topping-

1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick)

1/3 cup honey

2/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 1/2 cup pecans, coarsely chopped

for cupcakes-

2 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 large eggs

2 cups sugar

1 cup oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup sour cream.

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cut 12 waxed paper circles that fit the bottom of extra-large muffin tin cups. Line 12 extra-large muffin tin cups with the paper circles. Spray the inside of each opening and the paper circles with nonstick cooking spray.

For the topping:

Heat the butter, honey, and brown sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat, stirring constantly, until the butter and brown sugar melt and the mixture is smooth. Take off heat and put 1 1/2 tablespoons of brown sugar mixture into the bottom of each waxed paper-lined cup. Spoon 2 tablespoons of pecans on top. Set aside.

For the cupcakes:

Sift the four, baking powder, baking soda, and salt into a medium bowl and set aside. *Remember the rule in baking is to do the dry ingredients first followed by the wet ingredients.

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat the eggs and sugar until thickened and lightened to a cream color, about 2 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary. On low speed, mix in the oil and vanilla until blended. Mix in the sour cream until no white streaks remain. Mix in the flour mixture until it is incorporated and the batter is smooth.

Fill prepared cups with a generous 1/3 cup of batter on top of brown sugar and pecans, to just below the top of each pan.

Bake just until the tops feel firm and a toothpick inserted into the upper cupcake batter comes out clean, about 25 minutes. Cool the cupcakes for 2 minutes in the pan on a wire rack.

Use a small knife to loosen the cupcakes from the sides of the pan. Carefully place the wire wrack on top of the cupcakes in their pan. Using oven mitts or a pot holder, invert the pan and rack to release the cupcakes onto the wire rack so the pecan bottom is facing up.(Unfortunately, when I got up to this step I could not do it because my cupcakes were really stuck!!)

Remove the paper circles. If any pecans should stick, replace them on the cupcakes. Let cool completely. Serve, pecan side up, warm or at room temperature. Cupcakes can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 2 days.

Above is a picture of my pecan cupcakes; you can be the judge and let me know if the cupcake wrappers did the trick and covered my mess-up well or not! šŸ˜‰


“Seize the moment. Remember all those women on the Titanic who waved off the dessert cart”. ~Erma Bombeck

Leave a Reply

