Trying out “Barbara Ann”

For those of you who haven’t read my past blog about my kitchen equipment, i tend to name my equipment after Beach Boys songs. Barbara Ann is my babycakes cake pop maker; she is pink! 😀

Over February break I made a surprise visit to Plattsburgh to see my sister, Victoria. My sister is SUPER PICKY about the things I bake so I figured if i’m going to bake her something its got to be chocolate! Hence the chocolate cake pops!!  This is a picture of my sister, mom, and me at Christmas.

Image

The recipe I found in the booklet that came with the babycakes machine; therefore, this recipe can only be used if you have the machine. Don’t panic now and think “ooh geez, now I have to go out and buy a stinkin’ cake pop machine!” Don’t worry, you can make cake pops without a machine too! I just bought this machine because it is faster and usually when I bake, I tend to bake for large quantities of people.

Here’s a little warning if any of you readers share the same character trait as me, where you think you can do 348349238 things at one time… While I was filling each reservoir with the cake pop batter, I was also on the phone with my friend Christina. I can’t recall what we were talking about but I can tell you that I became SUPER distracted and had a CHOCOLATE EXPLOSION. There was chocolate all over my hands, all over the counter, and all over the cake pop machine… I couldn’t even hang up the phone because of the chocolate on my hands and because of how hysterically I was laughing.

This is a picture of the girl who helped cause the chocolate explosion 😉

Image

Hopefully after my warning you’ll stay away from taking phone calls while making these delectable morsels of chocolate!

Chocolate Cake Pops

Makes about 3 dozen

Image

Ingredients:

3/4 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

3 tablespoons cocoa

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup buttermilk

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 cup freshly brewed hot coffee

Package of Chocolate candy melts (I used Wilton brand, you can pick these up at Michael’s)

Directions:

1. Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a mixing bowl. Add buttermilk, vegetable oiil, egg and vanilla. Using a mixer, blend until smooth.

2. Add coffee and continue mixing until coffee is evenly incorporated into mixture.

3. Fill each cooking reservoir with about 1 tablespoon of batter.

4. Bake 4 to 5 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into a cake pop comes out clean.

5. Allow to cool and glaze or coat, as desired.

I put parchment paper inside one of tins I had lying around the house to transport the cake pops. They lasted in that tin for a whole 7 hour bus ride!

Image

“Don’t wreck a sublime chocolate experience by feeling guilty.” ~Lora Brody

2 thoughts on “Trying out “Barbara Ann”

  1. Rosanna Batista says:

    Oh my God, I love cake pops and I can’t wait to try this recipe…. thank you for sharing. xoxo
    -Rosanna

Leave a Reply

