Do not fear! An easy oreo truffle recipe is here!

 Image
St. Patrick’s day is MY holiday. A great thing about St. Patrick’s day is the fact that Disney Channel always plays the Luck of the Irish! I’ve been watching that movie since I was a little kid and it will never get old! I love going into the city to watch the St. Patrick’s Day Parade. I know so many firefighters who march in the parade, and fortunately I am always able to find at least 1.

NYC is such a beautiful place to be on March 17th! I love everyone wearing green, and everyone shouting “Up *insert county name here*!” Between me and my sister and all our friends we were a big group! My sister bought us all these really big rings from Party City. My ring said “Irish Hottie”, and my sister’s said “Sassy Lassie.”  😀 Because I’m so crazed for this holiday I wanted to go all out with green-themed desserts.

I first made Oreo Truffles, following the recipe I found on bakerella’s website (http://www.bakerella.com/its-no-sham%E2%80%A6these-rock). Bakerella’s recipe calls for a pkg. of Double Stuff Oreos, cool mint flavor but I couldn’t find that flavor while I was at the store so I just used the original ones. Personally, I think it worked out not having mint truffles because I was also making mint chocolate chip cookies. Here’s the recipe for Oreo Truffles!

Makes 36 truffles

ImageIngredients:

1 pkg of oreos

9 oz of cream cheese, room temp. (*1 pkg is 8 oz. but I found that I needed more cream cheese while mixing, hence the addition of an extra oz)

2 pkg.s of Wilton’s chocolate melts ( I used the vanilla melts, and green-dyed chocolate melts)

Image

Directions:

1. Crush the cookies in a food processor or a ziploc bag with a rolling pin.

2. Stir in softened cream cheese. Use the back of a large spoon to help mash the two together completely.

3. Roll the mixture into 1″ balls and place on wax paper covered cookie sheet.

4. Place covered in freezer or refrigerator for a few minutes to help retain shape when dipping in melted chocolate.

5. Melt chocolate as directed on the package and then dip balls into chocolate, tap off extra and set aside on wax paper covered cookie sheet to dry.

6. Refrigerate and enjoy!

Funny story….. After taking a few pictures of the truffles, I decided I would have one. Just for a moment I paused and put the half-bitten truffle on the chair (partly because every inch of counter space was covered from the mess I made). My sister decided to sit down and pick up my camera to take a couple of shots of the truffles. So I’m looking around and around for my truffle. I look at where my sister is sitting and I say to her “Did I finish my truffle or are you sitting on it?” She jumps right up and says “PLEAAASEEE tell me I did not sit on your truffle!” But….. she did! and here’s the evidence!!!

Image

“Strength is the capacity to break a chocolate bar into four pieces with your bare hands – and then eat just one of the pieces.” ~Judith Viorst

Leave a Reply

