Baking Adventures in Anacortes (Intro.)

One of my best friends, Alexis, lives in this wonderful island called Anacortes- located off the coast of Washington state. Let me start off by saying that island people are SO nice, its unbelievable the differences I observe between the social customs of the people who live in her town compared with the people who live by me in nyc. To explain- when we go walk over to the ferry landing to pick up a relative/friend, everyone that is there waiting talks to one another, its all completely friendly and not strange at all! Or if you’re going on a family hike, it is custom to smile and say hi to the people walking past you. WHAT IS THIS!? I want to live there!!

While on my visit Alexis and I decided we would partake in these baking escapades, and fortunately her family agreed to be the willing taste-tasters 🙂 One of the first things we baked was a blackberry pie. We did use frozen berries but let me tell you that filling was absolutely-friggin-delicious. We have yet to find the perfect crust recipe, specifically one without shortening because Alexis’ dad does not approve of using shortening. Therefore, until I can compose the blackberry pie recipe in its entirety I will leave you with just a picture for now!

“A boy doesn’t have to go to war to be a hero; he can say he doesn’t like pie when he sees there isn’t enough to go around.”   ~Edgar Watson Howe

Leave a Reply

