Bored for Breakfast?

Over the summer I had all this extra time before I started school so on one of my mornings I decided to make crepes for breakfast. I used the first recipe I found online, not knowing it would make about 25 crepes!!! This was not so smart on my part because I was home alone; I had crepes for breakfast, lunch, and dessert!!! The versatile thing about crepes is that you can change the filling so that your plate is either sweet or savory.

The following is a modified, smaller crepe recipe which makes about 6, 10 inch crepes.

Basic Crepe Recipe

Ingredients:

1 large egg

1 pinch of salt

1/2 c. flour

1/2 c + 2T milk

1 t. vanilla extrack

1 T. sugar

1 T. oil

Directions:

1. Whisk together the egg with the salt. 

2. Add the flour first, half of the milk, and the rest of the ingredients. Continue to whisk as you pour in the rest of the milk.

*the batter should not be too liquid, so add the milk to eye.

Other side notes,

Stack the crepes as they come off the pan as they will keep warm that way. Be sure to grease the pan between every other crepe- butter works better than oil. Examples of filling include nutella, fruit (strawberries, bananas, blueberries, etc.), jams, peanut butter, etc.

I filled my crepes with nutella and then topped my crepes with powdered sugar as I do not like whipped cream.

One of the simplest recipes and one of the most enjoyed of all time! 🙂

Image“Fat gives things flavor.” – Julia Child

Leave a Reply

