Baking Fundies!!

So as some of you may know I am currently enrolled in the Culinary Institute of America as a baking and pastry student. The first bakeshop class I took lasted 15 weeks and was called “Baking and Pastry Fundamentals” or more commonly known to us students as baking fundies. I honestly learned so much in this class. To be completely honest before going into culinary school I didn’t even know what the creaming method was. I know some of you are probably freaking out in your seats right now reading this but it’s not like I never baked before!

It’s an understatement to say I was less-experienced; but that was my motivation to do the best I could each day with all my products. I was grateful for all the mistakes I made; I hate being embarassed about them because without my mistakes I wouldn’t learn anything. Better yet, I wouldn’t know how to fix the problem if it happened again. We went through a lot of chefs during our 15 weeks, and each had something different to offer. Here’s a collage of a few things we made during our first few weeks: cookies, corn muffins, blueberry muffins, eclairs, and pound cake.

Image

“This is the foundation to your house.” -Chef Adams

Leave a Reply

