Thanksgiving

I can’t believe it has taken me so long to write about my Thanksgiving holiday! So this past Thanksgiving we had dinner at my house and I obviously was the one to make dessert. I made pecan pie, apple pie, and chocolate pumpkin cupcakes. The cupcakes were per request by my sister and the pecan pie was per request by my mother. I on the other friend wanted to make a brown butter pumpkin cake but no luck on my side!

thanksgivingChocolate-Pumpkin Cupcakes:

*makes 36 cupcakes

Ingredients:

2 1/2 c. + 2 T.    A-P Flour

1   1/4 C. cocoa powder ( I used Scharffen Berger)

1 T. baking powder

1    1/2 t. baking soda

2  1/4 t. cinnamon

3/4  t. nutmeg

1/2  t. allspice

1/8  t. cardamom  (I couldn’t find this at my local store, so I left it out and it still tasted great!)

3/4 C. buttermilk

14.5 oz. can pumpkin puree (I used Aunt Libby’s brand)

2  1/2 sticks unsalted butter

1  1/2 C. dark brown sugar

1 1/2 C. granulated sugar

5 eggs

 

Orange Cream Cheese Frosting:

8 oz. cream cheese

1/2 stick unsalted butter

3 T. pumpkin puree *scale out from cupcake batter

1 t. grated orange zest

1/2 t. vanilla extract

3 C. confectioners’ sugar

Orange food coloring

“My whole approach is to look in cupboards and throw a bunch of stuff together. It can’t be bad if it’s coated in chocolate and butter-just enjoy yourself!”    -Christina Tosi

 

 

Leave a Reply

